ALBANY — SUNY and CUNY will return roughly 300 students and facility studying abroad in five countries due to growing concerns over the spread of coronavirus.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo and college officials made the announcement Wednesday, saying the study abroad programs in China, Italy, Japan, Iran and South Korea have been suspended immediately.

The state Health Department made the recommendations after New York confirmed six people — including four from one Westchester County and one neighbor — have been infected with the virus.

The college students, along with any facility and staff, will take a chartered plane back from the countries and begin a 14-day quarantine at undisclosed dormitories at a few of the system's 64 campuses, state officials said.

All five countries have either been issued a Level 2 or Level 3 travel notice from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

"As we continue to see a rise in cases of novel coronavirus around the world, we are taking every precaution necessary and mobilizing our public health system to protect New Yorkers," Cuomo said in a statement.

"Out of an abundance of caution, SUNY and CUNY study abroad programs in the highest impacted countries will be suspended effective immediately and all students and staff will return to New York and begin a 14-day quarantine."

Cuomo said the decision should not suggest a reason to panic, but "the reality is we are getting the testing done, getting the information out and deploying healthcare resources to treat people who need it."

The students are expected to fly back in the coming days to Stewart International Airport in Newburgh.

"We will provide students with financial and academic resources and work to minimize any disruption today's action may cause, while we work aggressively with all our partners at the local, state and federal level to protect our entire campus communities," SUNY Chancellor Kristina Johnson said.

Additionally, SUNY and CUNY have cancelled all campus-sponsored travel outside of the U.S. to impacted countries for the spring semester.