With a pair of wins over Dansville and Northwest College Prep, the Wayland-Cohocton Golden Eagles boys’ basketball took home the title trophy at the Dansville Rotary Tournament last week.

With a pair of wins over Dansville and Northwest College Prep, the Wayland-Cohocton Golden Eagles boys’ basketball took home the title trophy at the Dansville Rotary Tournament last week.

Wayland-Cohocton vs. Dansville

The Eagles’ strong defense and big offensive in the third period gave Way-Co a 55-37 win Thursday and dashed Dansville’s chances of a trophy at their own tournament.

“We have to match Dansville’s intensity if we’re going to have a chance to win the game,” Way-Co Coach Bob Skoczylas said ahead of the game.

Evan Englert scored for the Eagles in the first five seconds assisted by D.J. Harris

Dansville responded with seven unanswered points, but by the end of the first, the Eagles had brought the game back to a 15-15 tie.

Way-Co saw a short-lived lead in the second quarter before regaining the lead 26-21 before the half, this time for good.

Threes by Englert and Tyler Thielges started a 10-4 Eagles run and a 47-30 lead heading into the fourth and a 55-37 final.


Scoring: Dean Bembower 12; D.J. Harris 11, Ryan Gibbs 10, Evan Englert 8, Tyler Thielges 7, Reece McInnis 5, Tim Weidman 2

Rebounds: R. McInnis 6, D. Bembower 5; E. Englert 5

Assists: D.J. Harris 3, R. Gibbs 3, E. Englert 3

Steals: E. Englert 3, T. Thielges 3, T. Weidman 3

Freethrows: 11-22


Scoring: Patrick McMullin 10, Mitch Lamerson 9, Sammy Diaz 6, Geoff VanDunk 6, Ronnie Diaz 3, Tyler Harnish 2, Ray Tighe 1

Rebounds: S. Diaz 3, G. VanDunk 3



Blocks: G. VanDunk 3

Freethrows: 7-15

Northwest College Prep defeated Greece Odyssey Friday, setting up a trophy game Saturday for Way-Co and NCP. Dansville faced Greece Odyssey in the consolation bracket.

Wayland-Cohocoton vs. Northwest College Prep

Way-Co won the title game Saturday night with a 52-22 victory over Northwest College Prep with a strong second and third quarter.

The Eagles started with an early lead on NCP, before the Panthers crept back in the second. But within the final four minutes of the half Way-Co rallied 12-0 as the Eagles hit the locker room with an upswing.

Harris ignited the second half with a three-pointer and a quick deuce that started a 14-2 run and a 37-11 lead to start the last quarter. The Eagles didn’t let up until the final buzzer as a 52-22 victory gave Way-Co its first Dansville Rotary trophy.

“We had a little shaky start, but we managed to shake it off and got going late in the second quarter,” Skoczylas said. “We really settled in on defense too and didn’t give them too many second chances.”


Scoring: Evan Englert 19, Dean Bembower 11, D.J. Harris 10, Tyler Thielges 5, Reece McInnis 3, Cody Oas 2, Ryan Gibbs 2

Rebounds: E. Englert 7, D. Bembower 15, R. Gibbs 5, T. Thielges 4

Assists: E. Englert 5

Steals: E. Englert 4, D. Bembower 4

Dansville vs. Greece Odyssey

A back-and-forth game Saturday saw Greece Odyssey come out on top of the Dansville Mustangs 56-48.

Dansville’s Gio Mountzouros started the game with a lay-up, then Greece ran 9-1 for a first period score at 12-8.

Odyssey kept the pressure with a 13-1 run and a 16-point lead before Dansville got back with 13 points between Mountzouros, Geoff VanDunk and Mitch Lamerson. With 1.9 seconds on the clock, Lamerson’s inside bucket narrowed the gap to 25-22 at the half.

The Leopards were on fire coming out of the locker room as they scored the first 13 points of the half. Midway through the period, Dansville was down 45-24 when the tables turned. Lamerson, Tyler Harnish, Steven MacDonald and VanDunk went on a 13-2 streak to bring it to a 10-point game. But Dansville couldn’t get it any tighter than nine points in the final quarter and the Mustangs fell 56-48, giving Greece Odyssey their first win for the season.


Scoring: Mitch Lamerson 28, Gio Mountzouros 7, Geoff VanDunk 7, Tyler Harnish 4, Jack Toomey 2, Steven MacDonald 2.

The All-Tournament Team included Chris Tomasso, Odyssey; Tori Wright, NCP; Mitch Lamerson, Dansville; Evan Englert and Dean Bembower, Way-Co. Harris was named tournament Most Outstanding Player.