A glance at the Section V playoff brackets would tell you all you need to know about the strength of the Steuben County girls basketball scene this winter.

Four top-four seeds, two finalists, one champion.

Area hoops fans were treated to some great individual performances along the way, and those efforts were reflected in the selections to the Steuben County All-Star team.

Jasper-Troupsburg junior McKenzie Prutsman was named league MVP?for the second straight season. Prutsman led the Lady Wildcats to a third straight Steuben County Tournament title and a 19-2 overall record. The Wildcats overcame the midseason loss of last year’s co-MVP, senior Kendall Austin, to get back to the Class D1 finals after a two-year absence.

Hannah Miles stepped up into a larger role and provided another scoring option for the Wildcats, and the junior joined Prutsman with First Team honors on the All-Star squad.

Canisteo-Greenwood junior Amber Edwards led Steuben County in scoring on her way to First Team honors. The only thing that kept Edwards from eclipsing 400 points was an ankle injury that cost her two games. Edwards finished the year with 370 points, pouring in 21.8 a night for a Redskins squad that went 13-6 to nab the No. 4 seed in Class C2.

Like Prutsman and Edwards, Arkport senior Lauren Wyant had a 30-point game on her resume this winter. The veteran guard led the Lady Jays in points (15.5 per game) and steals (2.0) while also grabbing four boards a night.

Wyant and Hammondsport’s Lori Gordon were the only seniors on the First Team. Gordon led the Lakers in every statistical category with averages of 16.6 points, 13.5 boards and 2.6 steals. Wyant and Gordon were also named Ronald McDonald All-Stars.

Prattsburgh’s Morgan Stratton rounded out the First Team selections. Stratton led the Vikings to the D2 championship with a finals win over No. 1-seeded Lima Christian.

Alfred-Almond junior Catherine Bialecki was a Second Team selection. Bialecki anchored a youthful Eagles squad with 14.6 points, 13.4 boards and 3.7 blocks per game, notching several triple-doubles along the way.

Canisteo-Greenwood senior Hali Ordway was named to the Second Team. Ordway was second on the Redskins with an average of 9.8 points a night, capping off a three-year varsity career.

Rae Prestridge was a Second Team selection after leading Avoca in scoring. Elizabeth Housel was named to the Second Team for Addison, which battled the injury bug all season. Prattsburgh juniors Hannah Robbins and Shana Egresi also earned Second Team selections.

Meanwhile, the 2014 Senior Game will be played Thursday evening at Cuba-Rushford High School. A roster of 12 players will represent Steuben County in a contest against Allegany County.

Teaming up for Steuben County will be seniors Erin Cornish (Jasper-Troupsburg), Angel Schoonover (Jasper-Troupsburg), Maddie Whiteman (Arkport), Hali Ordway (Canisteo-Greenwood), Julie York (Canisteo-Greenwood), Sofia Caltabiano (Canisteo-Greenwood), Haley Robinson (Addison), Kathryn Morris (Addison), Kasey Socola (Prattsburgh), Anna Presher (Prattsburgh), Korynne House (Hammondsport) and Summer Wulff (Campbell-Savona).

The seniors will be coached by Canisteo-Greenwood’s Mike Wright and Campbell-Savona’s Dawn Shanks.